At their Feb. 6 meeting, the Chariton City Council approved by resolution the extension of Fire Protection Agreements between the City of Chariton and townships in Lucas County.

It was explained that every two years, the City of Chariton extends the agreement with townships in Lucas County to provide fire protection services. The extensions that the city council approved on Feb. 6 are from and with the following townships:

• Benton Township, English Township, Liberty Township, Lincoln Township, Ottercreek Township, Warren Township and Whitebreast Township.

Each extension agreement was approved by a separate resolution by the council.