The Chariton Varsity wrestling team began their season with a quadrangular meet at Grinnell this past Thursday night with Grinnell, Oskaloosa and Saydel.

Chariton went 1-2 on the night, defeating Saydel 45-36 and losing to Grinnell, 54-20, and to Oskaloosa, 57-24.

Chariton 45 Saydel 36

This match began at 106 pounds where Octavio Garcia of Chariton pinned Aiden Reeves in 1:09. At 113, Jacob Chapman won by a 9-6 decision over Jonah Peak of Saydel.

At 120, Chariton’s Alexis Alexander won by forfeit to give Chariton an early 15-0 lead. At 126, Tyler Goavert of Chariton was pinned by Clayton Myers in 1:35.

At 132, Chariton’s Allen Constable won by forfeit. At 138, Chariton’s Tanner Ballard was pinned by Austin Chally in 2:30. At 145, Chariton’s Zach Young won by forfeit.

At 152, Isaac Coker of Chariton was pinned by Austin Pyles in 1:15. At 160, Saydel’s Jake Van Houten won by forfeit. At 170, Isaiah Wertz of Chariton was pinned by Isaiah Berry in 1:50.

At 182, Logan Demichelis of Chariton was pinned by Payton Swafford in 2:15. At 195, Chariton’s Joey McDonough won by forfeit.

At 220, Chariton’s Jordan Mundy pinned Phoenix Birch in 40 seconds. At 285, Chariton’s Isaac Hogan won by forfeit.

Exhibition matches

There were three exhibition matches in this match. At 182, Chariton’s Chandler Swanson was pinned by Trevor Lause in 1:30. At 182, Dallas Furman of Chariton was pinned by Trevor Lause in 1:05.

At 220, Chariton’s Charles Logan was pinned by Derek Porter in 25 seconds.

Grinnell 54 Chariton 20

In this match, Chariton jumped out to an early 10-0 lead on a 16-4 major decision win by Chapman over Hayden Eaton of Grinnell at 106 and a forfeit win by Garcia at 113.

There was a double forfeit at 120. The Tigers won the next four matches by pin to take control of the match and a 24-10 lead. At 126, Goavert was pinned by Jack Dahlby-Alrbight of Grinnell in 27 seconds. At 132, Constable was pinned by Brock Beck of Grinnell in 2:16.

At 138, Ballard was pinned by Landon Kirby of Grinnell in 4:16. At 152, Grinnell’s Andres Cantillo won by forfeit and Grinnell’s Josh Osborne won by forfeit at 160.

At 170, Wertz was pinned by Max Loveall of Grinnell in 4:39. At 182, Demichelis of Chariton pinned Oliver Louden of Grinnell in 18 seconds.

At 195, McDonough of Chariton was pinned by Wyatt Hunter of Grinnell in 29 seconds. At 220, Logan of Chariton was pinned by Kamrin Stevenson in 19 seconds. At 285, Mundy of Chariton won by a 9-1 major decision over Michael Norenberg.

Read the December 10, 2019 edition of the Chariton Leader for the rest of the story.

Recommended for you