Lucas County Producers honored with Iowa Farm Environmental Leader Award

From left, Iowa Department of Natural Resources Director Kayla Lyon, Secretary of Agriculture Mike Naig, Jillann Hunt, Troy Lust, and Iowa Governor Kim Reynolds pose after the presentation of the Iowa Farm Environmental Leader Award which acknowledges farmers who take voluntary actions to improve or protect the environment and our state’s natural resources.

Troy Lust and Jillann Hunt of Humeston, Iowa were recognized as Iowa Environmental Farm Leaders during a special ceremony held Aug. 14 at the Iowa State Fair.

The Iowa Farm Environmental Leader Award is a joint effort of the governor, lieutenant governor, Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship, and the Iowa Department of Natural Resources to recognize the exemplary voluntary efforts of Iowa’s farmers as environmental leaders committed to healthy soils and improved water quality.

The Rathbun Land and Water Alliance nominated Troy and Jillann for the award after recognizing the couple as Rathbun Lake Protectors in 2018.

The nomination states that Troy is an active member in the organizations of Pheasants Forever, Quail Forever, the Wild Turkey Federation, and Farm Bureau. He is conservation minded and is involved with the Quail Safe Initiative with the goal to benefit the wildlife and protect the environment.

Read the September 10, 2019 edition of the Chariton Leader for the rest of the story.

Recommended for you