Two new members were inducted into the Lucas County Farm Bureau Hall of Fame at Lucas County Farm Bureau’s annual meeting at Carpenter’s Hall Monday night. The guest speaker was Daniel Heady, the National Policy Advisor for the Iowa Farm Bureau Federation (IFBF).

The new Hall of Fame inductees were each presented with a plaque by Lucas County Farm Bureau President Marshal Schlutz. The inductees were Jim Wright, who was named the Farmer of the Year; and Mike Beaty of Beaty Insurance in Russell, who was named the Business Person of the Year.

There was no Retired Teacher of the Year inducted this year.

Lucas County Farm Bureau started its Hall of Fame program in 1996. To be eligible for the Hall of Fame, inductees must be 55 years old or older, involved in agribusiness/farming, a retired teacher, or a businessperson that has contributed to the community.

The 2019 Lucas County Farm Bureau officers were recognized. They are: President Marshal Schlutz, Vice President Luke Willis, Secretary Justin Brown, Treasurer Sara Curran, and voting delegate Earl Comstock.

Read the June 6, 2019 edition of the Chariton Herald-Patriot for the rest of the story.

Recommended for you